Mental Health, Dementia & Learning Disabilities Training


This course in Mental Health, Dementia & Learning Disabilities covers standard 9 of the Care Certificate, providing awareness training that helps carers understand the range of mental health and learning difficulties their patients might experience, how to tailor the care they provide with these challenges in mind, and the legal rights of vulnerable people.

 The CPD Accredited eLearning course provides the user with a printable certificate upon completion of the end-of-training test.

Learning Outcomes

In this course you will learn:

  • The different types of mental health difficulties and learning disabilities you might encounter working in care.
  • To reassess the type of support you provide based on the individual needs of your patients.
  • The relevant legislation regarding mental capacity.

Course Contents

The Prevent Duty training course consists of three sections:

Section 1: mental health issues

Section 1 provides an overview of a range of different mental health conditions you might encounter within your role, including mood disorders, extreme states of mental ill-health, different types of learning disabilities, and dementia. We will discuss the causes of such conditions, how they progress, symptoms at different stages, and recommended treatments.

Section 2: care and support

Section 2 outlines person-centred care for mental health, and how you can tailor your service to meet the specific and changing needs of each patient.

Section 3: the law

There are laws and regulations in place to protect people with mental health disorders and learning disabilities from abuse and to help them retain their independence and opportunities for decision-making. This section looks at the details of such legislation and your legal responsibilities as a support worker.

About the Course


Mental health disorders officially affect around a third of the population, can range drastically in severity and effect, and, alongside dementia and learning difficulties and disabilities, are likely to appear more regularly within a care environment. This means it is essential for care workers to develop an awareness of the types of mental ill-health that might be encountered, as well as how to recognise symptoms in undiagnosed patients and how such disorders may be treated.

This course explains not only the legal responsibilities of those working in care surrounding mental health awareness and treatment, but also provides practicable methods on how to support people as individuals with a person-centred approach.

Standard 9 of the Care Certificate—Mental Health, Dementia & Learning Disabilities—requires staff to:

  • Understand the needs and experiences of people with mental health problems, learning disabilities or dementia.
  • Understand the need to promote positive mental health and wellbeing for individuals with mental health problems, learning disabilities or dementia.
  • Understand the need to change care delivery relating to someone who may have a mental health issue, dementia or learning disabilities.
  • Know the importance of early detection of dementia, mental health needs and learning disabilities.
  • Understand legal frameworks, policy and guidelines relating to mental health needs, learning disabilities and dementia.
  • Understand mental capacity.

This course works alongside the 14 other awareness courses that make up the care certificate standards. 

Offering practice-based information and advice, this course acts as a precursor to the practical training required to obtain the care certificate.

Available in 31 languages, the course takes around 35 minutes to complete.


    All courses translated into over 30 languages.